Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My favourite way to update last year’s winter wardrobe is with tights. Be it coloured, patterned, ribbed or funky as I mainly wear skirts and dresses come winter time tights are a saviour. Printed and patterned tights can often to be seen on the catwalk but fear not they are easy ways to add them to your every day wardrobe.

Whilst opaque black tights are a fail safe item even changing the colour to a berry or  green shade can totally rejuvenate an outfit. Grey tights can give a softer look than harsh black. A friend of mine dislikes her legs and refused point blank to wear coloured tights as she was convinced you would see all her lumps and bumps through them. My solution to this was to opt for the thickest denier you can find, I do the same with black tights as well – I’m all about the 100 denier.

Take inspiration from Sarah Jessica Parker and add a zingy colour to give a neutral outfit a little pop!

If you already wear coloured tights and fancy something patterned then there is a whole array of printed tights out there for you. My one tip would be to let the tights be the statement piece if they are a wild or wacky print.

A delicate lace or polka dot can add a splash of personality to workwear, take inspiration from these Francesco Scognamiglio

A favourite way of mine of wearing colour and pattern is to layer coloured fishnets over coloured tights. I used to wear a purple pair of patterned fishnets from Peacocks over blue or teal or berry coloured tights and I always received the nicest comments.

Ultimately I think it’s about the confidence you wear your tights with. Be it a flash of colour or pattern from beneath a pencil skirt and boots or going the whole hog and embracing crazy patterns ala Henry Holland.

The best places to buy tights:

Tights Please

UK Tights

Pretty Polly

My Tights

Do you wear patterned tights? Any tips on wearing them?

Lea

lifeaccordingtolea.wordpress.com

