Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well the fantastic London 2012 Olympics closed on the weekend and here we are looking at a slightly grey and overcast start to the week. Many of you may have had a few days / weeks off to coincide with the Olympics and now may be heading back to work, some of you are in your 4th week of the school holidays and may be wondering how to survive until September without hitting the Gin? I don’t know about you but I could really do with having my mood boosted right now in order to shake off this feeling.

So I looked online to see some of the best mood boosting strategies out there.

Food

Firstly, I thought I would start internally (you are what you eat and all that malarky). Apparnetly these foods will all boost your mood:

Asparagus – Good, I love this and have some in the fridge.

Buckwheat – Ermm I seem to be a bit low on that right now.

Oysters – Brrrruppppp and Bleurgh!

Ok so it seems I will be preparing myself a dish of Asparagus for lunch but I am not feeling confident that this will be enough to bring me out of the doldrums. So what next?

Exercise

Everyone knows that exercise is a mood booster and to be honest, after seeing those fantastic athletes perform, I feel like I should be doing a bit more. I love yoga and dancing and apparently the Upward Facing Dog has been proven to boost your mood and decrease anxiety, so here goes …

This has definitely helped a bit, the blood is flowing and I feel more awake but not ready to take on the world just yet.

Humour

There are a million ways to make yourself laugh from putting on your favourite silly movie – mine would be either Step Brothers or Zoolander – to browsing the internet for silly jokes or photos.

This photo of a shaved llama certainly brought a smile to my face!

Retail Therapy

I know times are tough and you may not be in a position to have a big splurge, but there are lots of sales out there where you may be able to grab a bargain which gives you a little boost.

I am going to treat myself to these Ruby Shoo sandals from Macoo which are reduced to £24.99. But if you’re on an even tighter budget, how about a gorgeous new lipstick or nail colour?

Barry M have some really gorgeous bright lipsticks and nail varnishes and they are always so reasonably priced.

Audio Boost

By now you should hopefully be feeling much happier and more positive, so there is just one thing left to do. Get your favourite music on and play it LOUD! I decided to go a bit retro today with a song that always makes me smile and gets me dancing.

I have to admit that after all of this I do feel a lot better and writing this blog has proved to me that the mood we feel initially doesn’t have to stick with us the whole day through. So shake yourself off, indulge your senses and give your mood a boost.

I would love to hear what other mood boosting strategies you have?

