Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

When I go out I carry a massive bag with me. The word handbag doesn’t fit in my world; hiker’s backpack is closer to the mark. I could use the excuse that as a mother to a toddler I need to keep spare changes of clothes, wipes, nappies, snacks, the kitchen sink… But who am I kidding? Most of the junk found in my ‘handbag’ actually belongs to me. I simply cannot pack light.

I am now on a mission to reduce the amount of debris I haul around and that means smaller bags. I’m ditching the oversized hobos in favour of more compact and stylish arm-wear. I’m not resorting to the cigar boxes seen on the AW catwalks of Stella McCartney and Lanvin – I definitely can’t survive with just a lipstick and a credit card – but I’m working on the theory that if it can’t fit in my handbag, it can’t leave the house.

Irregular Choice Flick Flack Bag

My first thought was that this fuschia blossom Irregular Choice Flick Flack bag would be perfect. I adore the bright pink colour and love the quirky mix of patterns on the pockets. I would style it with everything in my wardrobe, no matter how delightfully it clashed. Except I was thinking with my ‘big bag’ hat on. No, as much as I love the bag it doesn’t fit the brief.

Irregular Choice Aunt Sally Small Basket

Moving down to a smaller size, the Irregular Choice Aunt Sally Basket ticks the bright colour box however I’m not sure a shopper basket was quite what the likes of Chanel and Marc Jacobs thought of when they brought out the paintbox for the AW shows.

Ouch London Notting Hill Faux Leather Shoulder Bag

Much to my delight, roomy bags are in this season but have now taken a geometric style moving away from my beloved slouch. I’m not quite brave enough to throw myself into the box trend but this Ouch London Notting Hill Black Faux Leather Shoulder Bag is a toe in the water. With a number of separated pockets there’s less chance of losing my keys in the handbag black hole and I can always try to avoid using at least one of the compartments.

Irregular Choice Spit Spot Satchel

Shoulder bags have transitioned from an SS12 must have to an AW one and leather is the material to use. The Irregular Choice Spit Spot Satchel is a great wear-anywhere option and the leather-look PU is a much cheaper alternative to leather. For bonus points it’s small enough to carry in your hand (with the strap held or wrapped around your wrist) for a just stepped off the catwalk look.

As much as I hate to admit it, the smallest option is best and that means the satchel. Now all I need is Mary Poppins to turn it into her magic carpet bag for me.

