Tags

, , ,

Had a rubbish day? Car broken down? Boyfriend dumped you? Cat been sick on your best dress? Then you need an immediate pick me up. Everyone knows that positive things happen to positive people, so here are ten ways that can help you to turn your frown upside down!

1. Create a Kick-Ass Playlist

Load up your iPod with at least ten songs that make you feel like you can achieve anything, a mix of banging music and cheesy happiness should do it …. mine ranges from Flux Pavilion to Take That! Then play them loud and proud whilst singing and dancing to them!

2. Take a Stroll Down Memory Lane

OK, if you’ve just been dumped I’m not suggesting you sit looking at photos of you and the ex in Paris, but have a look at really old photos from your childhood, school discos, fancy dress parties, summer holidays. Reminisce and remember those happy and carefree times.

3. Be a big kid

Go to the park and play on the swings, sit in a field and make a daisy chain or play in a ball pit (like I like to do!). Remembering how to have fun and feeling carefree is natures prozac, act like no-one is watching and just be stupid!

4. Pay it Forward

Although when you’re feeling down and fed up, the last thing you may want to do is be selfless, performing a random act of kindness for someone will not only make them feel good, but will boost you too, so help out a neighbour, offer to help a friend you know is struggling, visit your granny with some flowers and you’ll get a warmer glow than if you’d just eaten a bowl of porridge!

5. Count Your Blessings

Its so easy to feel like everything is going wrong for you, but that’s simply untrue. No matter how small, we all have blessings to be grateful for, so write them down. Start with the big things and then you’ll notice lots of smaller ones too, my list goes on and on but here are a few:

  • My beautiful, healthy daughter
  • My family
  • My friends
  • I have a roof over my head
  • I own some beautiful shoes
  • I have Port Salut cheese in my fridge

You get the gist! The list will go on and on and you’ll soon realise you have a lot to feel happy about.

6. Write a diary entry for 6 / 12 months time

Sit down with a pen and paper and write a diary entry for a date in the future. Vividly describe how wonderful your life is going, the friends you have, the career you have carved and how happy you are. Your subconscious mind has difficulty understanding reality from fantasy and so by doing this and making it vivid, you will create the future you want.

7. Wear your highest shoes

Throw on your highest, sexiest, most beautiful shoes and wear them. Stand tall and feel confident, even if you are wearing them with a pair of jeans. High heels will instantly boost not only your posture, but also your mood. Who cares if they are totally impractical to wear around the supermarket, if they lift your mood …. wear them!

8. Give someone a CWTCH!

OK well cwtch is Welsh for a really big hug which also has loads of love thrown in to it … so much better than your regular cuddle. So find someone and give them a cwtch, make them feel good and I guarantee you will feel the same. Of course, this does come with a disclaimer, doing this to random people on the train may cause happiness or may result in harassment charges!

9. Clean out your Handbag

Go through your ‘everyday’ handbag and you’ll be amazed at what you find! Bus tickets from days out that you had forgotten, receipts for meals that bring back wonderful memories, lipsticks you didn’t even know you’d owned etc. You can also marvel at the randomness of things which you have no idea how they got in there in the first place, in my case I found a tape measure, cork screw, shoe horn and two spoons! Its like a lucky dip!

10. Watch your Favourite Silly Comedy

For me, its Step Brothers! Every time I put that film on, it never fails to make me laugh out loud no matter how bad my mood. However, if I’m feeling a little more melancholic then the fabulous It’s a Wonderful Life! is guaranteed to make me appreciate what I’ve got and give me a lovely warm feeling, it doesn’t matter what time of the year it is, that film will always fill me with joy. So get your ‘happy film’ on DVD and snuggle up to watch it.

Most of all, don’t let your bad mood control you, take control of it! Yes, its OK to be grumpy from time to time, but make sure you have a million more reasons to smile than to frown!

